See something you'd like to change or add, but you've never edited an open encyclopædia before? This overview was written to help absolute beginners get started.


From A Storehouse of Knowledge
Jump to: navigation, search

Cyprus is an island and country situated in the eastern Mediterranean Sea, south of Turkey's Anatolia peninsula and west of Syria. It is the largest island in the Mediterranean[1]. Cyprus is a member of the European Union, and is notable as the only EU country currently involved in a dispute over territory: the northern area of the island has asserted its independence as 'Turkish Cyprus' since 1983[2], but is recognised only by Turkey. The capital city of Cyprus is Nicosia and its currency is the euro.

The metal copper is called after Cyprus, because rich reserves of it were found and mined there in ancient times.


  1. European Countries - Cyprus
  2. - Cyprus Dispute
Personal tools

visitor navigation
contributor navigation