See something you'd like to change or add, but you've never edited an open encyclopædia before? This overview was written to help absolute beginners get started.


From A Storehouse of Knowledge
Jump to: navigation, search

The Arab Republic of Egypt (Arabic: Jumhuriyat Misr al-Arabiyah, where Misr is the word for Egypt) is a large nation of northeastern Africa. It includes the Sinai Peninsula which forms the landbridge between Africa and Asia. The capital city is Cairo. Other towns and cities include Alexandria, Aswan, Asyut, Benha, Dumyat, Giza, Hurgharda, Ismailia, Luxor, Kom Ombo, Port Said, Rashid, Safaga, Sharm el Sheikh, Suez, Tanta and Zagazig.

For a number of generations, the Israelites lived in Goshen on the northeastern reaches of the Nile delta. Exodus relates the story of their flight across the Reed Sea (not the Red Sea), known today as the Great Bitter Lake, part of the Suez Canal system, where God miraculously divided the waters to allow the Hebrews to escape.

Personal tools

visitor navigation
contributor navigation